Asile de Nuit, Asile de Jour et Créche Israelites

The history of the Asile de Nuit, Asile de Jour et Créche Israelites (Jewish night asylum, day asylum and day nursery) dates back to the beginning of the 20th century, when forty philanthropists founded the Jewish Asylum-Philanthropic Society in Paris to assist Jewish refugees fleeing pogroms in Osteuropa. In the 1930s, the Asile de Nuit, Asile de Jour et Créche Israelites once again became a destination for German-Jewish refugees in particular, who escaped Nazi persecution to Paris and were largely dependent on support. In this original footage the different activities of the Asile were documented.

At the end of the 19th and beginning of the 20th century, Jews increasingly migrated from Eastern Europe to France, among other places, to escape economic hardship and pogroms. As a result, the Jewish Asylum-Philanthropic Society was founded in Paris in 1900.

The premises of the Jewish Asylum were initially located at 15 Rue du Figuier in the Marais district, the Pletzl (the small square in Yiddish). In 1910, a night asylum was then built in the 18th arrondissement (42 rue des Saules). The film documents the accommodation in the Rue de Chevalier de Barre in the Montmartre district. The asylum’s activities included counseling and accommodation, food distribution and educational services, and childcare. The asylum is a good example of how infrastructures for refugees is reused and refugee relief work builds on each other transhistorically.

March of Time – outtakes – Jewish Refugees in Paris

Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Public Domain

Reworked and edited by Miriam Schulz

Search

Asile de Nuit, Asile de Jour et Créche Israelites

Die Geschichte des Asile de Nuit, Asile de Jour et Créche Israelites (Israelisches Nachtasyl, Tagesasyl und Kinderkrippe) reicht bis an den Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts zurück, als vierzig Philanthropen die Jüdische Asyl-Philanthropische Gesellschaft gründeten, um vor Pogromen nach Paris Geflüchteten zu helfen. In den 1930er Jahren wurde das Asile de Nuit, Asile de Jour et Créche Israelites wieder Anlaufpunkt für insbesondere deutsch-jüdische Geflüchtete, die der nationalsozialistischen Verfolgung vorerst nach Paris entkamen und weitestgehend auf Unterstützung angewiesen waren. In diesen Originalaufnahmen wurden die verschiedenen Aktivitäten im Asile dokumentiert.

Am Ende des 19., Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts migrierten vermehrt Jüdinnen*Juden aus Osteuropa u.a. nach Frankreich, um wirtschaftlicher Not und Pogromen zu entkommen. 1900 wurde daraufhin die Jüdische Asyl-Philanthropische Gesellschaft in Paris gegründet.

Die Räumlichkeiten des Israelitischen Asyls befanden sich zunächst in der Rue du Figuier 15 im Stadtteil Marais, dem Pletzl (der kleine Platz auf Jiddisch). Im Jahr 1910 wurde dann im 18. Arrondissement (42 rue des Saules) ein Nachtasyl gebaut. Der Film dokumentiert die Unterkunft in der Rue de Chevalier de Barre im Stadtteil Montmartre. Die Aktivitäten des Asyl schlossen die Beratung und Unterkunft ein, Essensausgabe und Bildungsangebote sowie Kinderbetreuung mit ein. Das Asyl ist ein gutes Beispiel dafür, wie Infrastrukturen für Geflüchtete wiederverwendet werden und Unterstützungsarbeit transhistorisch aufeinander aufbaut.

March of Time – outtakes – Jewish Refugees in Paris

Steven Spielberg Film and Video Archive, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Public Domain

Reworked and edited by Miriam Schulz

Suche