Hannah Arendt: Curriculum Vitae

Even great political theorists sometimes have to write CVs. Also Hannah Arendt. It proves how crucially her experiences and work in Paris influenced her further life.

CURRICULUM VITAE

I, Hannah Arendt, was born on 14 October 1906 in Hannover. In autumn 1924 I passed the school-leaving examination of a humanistic grammar school in Königsberg/Pr. From 1924 to 1928 I studied philosophy, protestant theology and Greek philology, namely philosophy as my main subject, theology and Greek as minor subjects. I studied philosophy with Professors Heidegger (Marburg), Husserl (Freiburg) and Jaspers (Heidelberg), theology in Marburg with Professor Bultmann and in Heidelberg with Professor Dibelius and Greek philology with Professor Regenbogen in Heidelberg. In autumn 1928 I received my doctorate in Heidelberg under Jaspers with a thesis on the concept of love under Augustin, which was published in 1930 by Springer (Berlin) in a series of philosophical writings. Through the mediation of Mr. Jaspers, Mr. Heidegger and Mr. Dibelius, I received a scholarship from the Notgemeinschaft der Deutschen Wissenschaft in 1930 or 1931 for a thesis on the problem of German-Jewish assimilation, exemplified by the life of Rahel Varnhagen. During these years I published the following major essays: “Philosophy and Sociology” in the Gesellschaft, “Rilkes Duineser Elegien” in the Neue Schweizer Rundschau, “Lessing and Mendelssohn” in the Zeitschrift für Wissenschaft des Judentums, “Rahel Varnhagen” in the Reklam-Almanach. Articles on Adam Müller, Friedrich Gentz, Augustin and others, as well as book reviews, published in the Kölnische Zeitung, the Frankfurter Zeitung and the Archiv für Sozialwissenschaft.

In August 1933 I emigrated to Paris, where I broke off all scientific work in the first years in order to gain a practical overview of the Jewish question. After a brief secretary job with Arnold Zweig, I headed the educational department of a committee for the redeployment of German Jewish refugees (Agriculture et Artisanat) and in 1935 founded a French section of the Jugendaliyah for refugee children, through which some 120 children immigrated to Palestine until 1936. In pursuit of this work, I spent 1935 3 months in Palestine. During its 2 years of existence, this office expanded into a kind of counseling centre for young people, as such an institution did not exist in Paris. After 1936 I continued this work only part-time, because the Popular Front government had to grant work permits for young people and certificates were needed more urgently in Germany. At the end of 1936 I took over the secretariat of a committee that had been formed in defense of David Frankfurt. An extensive collection of material could be submitted to Frankfurter’s defender for his defense; however, every attempt to influence the nature of the defense itself failed.

From 1937 until the November pogroms of 1938 I withdrew from all practical activities in order to resume my scientific studies. At that time I lived on philosophy classes. During this time I finished my work on Rahel Varnhagen and then worked on a history of anti-Semitism. I gave a series of lectures on this topic at the German University in Paris.

The November pogroms of 1938 and the new influx of refugees into France put an end to this contemplative activity; I returned to practical work and was entrusted by the Jewish Agency (Department: Central Bureau for the Settlement of German Jews, Dr. Landauer, Jerusalem) with alien issues concerning the immigration of children and adults from Central Europe to France. During the war, with the help of the Zionist Organization of France, I set up a service for German and Austrian internees, whose main task was to bring people out of the concentration camps.

Hannah Arendt (1906-1975) was a Jewish German-American political theorist and writer.

After being detained by the Gestapo for several days in 1933, she fled to France and worked there, among other things, in Zionist organizations that helped Jews to escape. In 1937 she was deprived of German citizenship, which made her a stateless person for almost 14 years. After she was imprisoned for a few weeks in the French internment camp Gurs, she managed to escape from there as well. In 1941 Arendt came to the USA, where she spent the rest of her life and was granted US citizenship in 1951. In her first years in New York she worked as a publicist, editor and contributor to several Jewish magazines (including “Der Aufbau”) and organizations (including the Commission on Jewish Cultural Reconstruction). Under the impression of the experience of flight and arrival that she and other European Jews had had, she also wrote the essay “We Refugees” in the Menorah Journal in 1943. From 1953 to 1967 Arendt taught as a professor at Brooklyn College in New York, at the University of Chicago and at the New School for Social Research in New York.

Arendt, Hannah, 1942; Anders, Günther: Schreib doch mal hard facts über dich. Briefe 1939 bis 1975, Texte und Dokumente, Munich 2016. Pp. 30-31.

Search Help

Hannah Arendt: Curriculum Vitae

Auch große politische Theoretiker*innen müssen zuweilen Lebensläufe schreiben. Auch Hannah Arendt. Er beweist, wie entscheidend ihre Erfahrungen und Arbeit auf der Flucht in Paris ihr weiteres Leben beeinflusste.

CURRICULUM VITAE

Ich, Hannah Arendt, bin am 14. Oktober 1906 in Hannover geboren. Im Herbst 1924 bestand ich das Abiturientenexamen eines humanistischen Gymnasiums in Königsberg/Pr. Von 1924 bis 1928 studierte ich Philosophie, protestantische Theologie und griechische Philologie, und zwar Philosophie im Hauptfach, Theologie und Griechisch als Nebenfächer. Philosophie studierte ich bei den Professoren Heidegger (Marburg), Husserl (Freiburg) und Jaspers (Heidelberg), Theologie in Marburg bei Professor Bultmann und in Heidelberg bei Professor Dibelius und griechische Philologie bei Professor Regenbogen in Heidelberg. Im Herbst 1928 promovierte ich in Heidelberg bei Jaspers mit einer Arbeit über den Liebesbegriff bei Augustin, welche 1930 bei Springer (Berlin) in einer philosophischen Schriftenreihe erschien. Durch die Vermittlung der Herren Jaspers, Heidegger und Dibelius erhielt ich 1930 oder 1931 ein Stipendium der Notgemeinschaft der Deutschen Wissenschaft für eine Arbeit über das Problem der deutsch-jüdischen Assimilation, exemplifiziert an dem Leben der Rahel Varnhagen. Ich veröffentlichte in diesen Jahren folgende größeren Aufsätze: «Philosophie und Soziologie» in der Gesellschaft, «Rilkes Duineser Elegien» in der Neuen Schweizer Rundschau, «Lessing und Mendelssohn» in der Zeitschrift für Wissenschaft des Judentums, «Rahel Varnhagen» im Reklam-Almanach. Artikel über Adam Müller, Friedrich Gentz, Augustin und andere, ferner Buchbesprechungen, erschienen in der Kölnischen Zeitung, der Frankfurter Zeitung und dem Archiv für Sozialwissenschaft.

Im August 1933 emigrierte ich nach Paris, wo ich in den ersten Jahren alle wissenschaftliche Arbeit abbrach, um mir auf praktische Weise eine Übersicht über die Judenfrage zu verschaffen. Nach einer kurzen Sekretärstätigkeit bei Arnold Zweig, leitete ich die pädagogische Abteilung eines Comites zur Umschichtung deutsch-jüdischer Flüchtlinge (Agriculture et Artisanat) und begründete 1935 eine französische Abteilung der Jugendalijah für Flüchtlingskinder, durch welche etwa 120 Kinder bis 1936 nach Palästina einwanderten. Im Verfolg dieser Arbeit war ich 1935 3 Monate in Palästina. Dieses Büro erweiterte sich während seines ca. 2 jährigen Bestehens zu einer Art Beratungsstelle für Jugendliche, da eine solche Institution in Paris nicht existierte. Nach 1936 habe ich diese Arbeit nur noch nebenamtlich weitergeführt, da durch die Volksfrontregierung Arbeitserlaubnisse für Jugendliche zu erhalten waren und Zertifikate in Deutschland dringender gebraucht wurden. Ende des Jahres 1936 übernahm ich das Sekretariat eines Comites, das sich zu Verteidigung David Frankfurters gebildet hatte. Eine umfangreiche Materialsammlung konnte dem Verteidiger Frankfurters zur Verteidigung gestellt werden; hingegen scheiterte jeder Versuch, die Art der Verteidigung selbst zu beeinflussen.

Ab 1937 bis zu den Novemberpogromen 1938 habe ich mich von aller praktischen Tätigkeit zurückgezogen, um meine wissenschaftlichen Studien wieder aufzunehmen. Damals lebte ich von Philosophiestunden. Ich schrieb in dieser Zeit meine Arbeit über Rahel Varnhagen zu Ende und arbeitete danach an einer Geschichte des Antisemitismus. Über dieses Thema hielt ich eine Vortragsreihe an der Deutschen Hochschule in Paris.

Die Novemberpogrome 1938 und der neu einsetzende Flüchtlingsstrom nach Frankreich machten dieser kontemplativen Tätigkeit ein Ende; ich ging in die praktische Arbeit zurück und wurde von der Jewish Agency (Abteilung: Central Bureau for the Settlement of German Jews, Dr. Landauer, Jerusalem) mit alien Fragen, die die Einwanderung von Kindern und Erwachsenen aus Central-Europa nach Frankreich betrafen, betraut. Während des Krieges errichtete ich mit Hilfe der Zionistischen Organisation Frankreichs einen Dienst für deutsche und osterreichische Internierte, dessen Hauptaufgabe es war, Menschen aus den Konzentrationslagern herauszubringen.

Hannah Arendt (1906-1975) war eine jüdische deutsch-amerikanische politische Theoretikerin und Publizistin.

Nachdem sie 1933 mehrere Tage von der Gestapo inhaftiert wurde, floh sie nach Frankreich und arbeitete dort u.a. in zionistischen Organisationen, die Jüdinnen und Juden zur Flucht verhalfen. 1937 wurde ihr die deutsche Staatsangehörigkeit entzogen, was sie für fast 14 Jahre zur Staatenlosen machte. Nachdem sie einige Wochen im französischen Internierungslager Gurs gefangen war, gelang ihr auch von dort die Flucht. 1941 kam Arendt in die USA, wo sie den Rest ihres Lebens verbrachte und ihr im jahr 1951 die US-amerikanische Staatsbürgerschaft zuerkannt wurde. In ihren ersten Jahren in New York arbeitete sie als Publizistin, Lektorin und Mitarbeiterin mehrerer jüdischer Zeitschriften (u.a. „Der Aufbau“) und Organisationen (u.a. Commission on Jewish Cultural Reconstruction). Unter dem Eindruck der Flucht- und Ankommenserfahrung, die sie und andere europäische Jüdinnen und Juden gemacht hatten, verfasste sie 1943 auch den Essay „We Refugees“ im Menorah Journal.

Von 1953 bis 1967 lehrte Arendt als Professorin am Brooklyn College in New York, an der University of Chicago und an der New School for Social Research in New York.

Arendt, Hannah, 1942; Anders, Günther: Schreib doch mal hard facts über dich. Briefe 1939 bis 1975, Texte und Dokumente, München 2016. S. 30-31.

Suche