The Water

A Poem about the sea as a space of flight by Jehan Bseiso

To Bassem and Doa, for their love,
and their bravery.
For the one of them who drowned.

(Tell It)

The Water carried my body.
The Water didn’t carry my body, it was
my body
carried
the Water.

(Tell It)

When the sea is calm, the boats keep coming,

When the summer ends, the boats don’t stop.

Shipwrecks begin.

(Tell It)

Malta mon amour, how many shoeless bodies
at the bottom of the sea?

(Tell It)

Sublimation is when solid turns to gas,
without becoming liquid
I wish I died like that, without becoming Water.

Jehan Bseiso is a poet, researcher and aid worker. Her works have been published on several platforms. Furthermore, she is active in the work of Doctors Without Borders. Her poem “The Water” deals with the sea as a place that refugees cross on their way to Europe. With this, “The Water” becomes a place of hope and death.

In 2019, 79,889 people were counted by the beginning of November who came to Europe by the Mediterranean Sea. This is a smaller number than in previous years. The UNHCR is aware of 1,089 cases in which people lost their lives. By June 2019, around 22,800 people had been rescued from the Mediterranean. State-run sea rescue operations have been severely reduced in recent years. Private sea rescue services such as Sea-Watch, Mission Lifeline and SOS Méditerranée are trying to fill this gap and save as many people as possible whose lives are still threatened when crossing the Mediterranean. 11All figures and information are from UNHCR Germany: FAQ Sea Rescue, in: UNHCR Germany Website, 2019: https://www.unhcr.org/dach/de/services/faq/faq-seenotrettung#01 (26.11.2019).

Malta is one of the European countries, along with Greece, Spain, Italy and Cyprus, where most of the refugees who cross the Mediterranean arrive by boat. According to UNHCR, 2,804 boats reached the island between 01 January 2019 and 01 October 2019. 22UNHCR Malta: Malta Sea Arricals. January-September 2019, in: UNHCR Malta Website, 2019: https://www.unhcr.org/mt/wp-content/uploads/sites/54/2019/10/Malta-Factsheet_OCTOBER.pdf (04.02.2019).

Deaths of refugees who lost their lives in the Mediterranean Sea and elsewhere have been documented by UNITED for Intercultural Action since 1993. In addition, many people die during their flight, while their fate remains unknown.

    Footnotes

  • 1All figures and information are from UNHCR Germany: FAQ Sea Rescue, in: UNHCR Germany Website, 2019: https://www.unhcr.org/dach/de/services/faq/faq-seenotrettung#01 (26.11.2019).
  • 2UNHCR Malta: Malta Sea Arricals. January-September 2019, in: UNHCR Malta Website, 2019: https://www.unhcr.org/mt/wp-content/uploads/sites/54/2019/10/Malta-Factsheet_OCTOBER.pdf (04.02.2019).

Bseiso, Jehan, 2019: The Water, in: Bhakti Shringarpure (ed. et al.): Mediterranean. Migrant Crossing. Storrs, CT: Warscapes Magazine, p. 15.

Reposted from Mediterranean. Migrant Crossings with the kind permission of Bhakti Shringarpure, founder and editor in chief of Warscapes.

For a review of Mediterranean. Migrant Crossing see here.

Search

Das Wasser

Gedicht über das Meer als Fluchtort von Jehan Bseiso

The Water

To Bassem and Doa, for their love,
and their bravery.
For the one of them who drowned.

(Tell It)

The Water carried my body.
The Water didn’t carry my body, it as
my body
carried
the water.

(Tell It)

When the sea is calm, the boats keep coming,
When the summer ends, the boats don’t stop.
Shipwrecks begin.

(Tell It)

Malta mon amour, how many shoeless bodies
at the bottom of the sea?

(Tell It)

Sublimation is when solid turns to gas,
without becoming liquid
I wish I died like that, without becoming Water.

Das Wasser

Für Bassem und Doa, für ihre Liebe,

und ihren Mut.

Für den ertrunkenen Menschen unter ihnen.

 

(Erzähl davon)

 

Das Wasser trug meinen Körper.

Das Wasser trug meinen Körper nicht, es war

mein Körper

trug

das Wasser.

 

(Erzähl davon)

 

Wenn das Meer ruhig ist, kommen die Boote immerfort,

Wenn der Sommer endet, hören die Boote nicht auf.

Schiffwracks beginnen.

 

(Erzähl davon)

 

Malta mon amour, wie viele schuhlose Körper

am Meeresgrund?

 

(Erzähl davon)

 

Sublimation ist, wenn etwas Festes zu Gas wird,

ohne flüssig zu werden

Ich wünschte, ich wäre so gestorben, ohne Wasser zu werden.

 

 

Jehan Bseiso ist Dichterin, Wissenschaftlerin und Unterstützungshelferin. Ihre Arbeiten wurden in zahlreichen Werken veröffentlicht. Sie ist zudem aktiv in der Arbeit von Ärzte ohne Grenzen. Ihr Gedicht „The Water“ ist eine Auseinandersetzung mit dem Meer als einem Ort, den Geflüchtete auf ihrem Weg nach Europa überqueren. Somit wird „Das Wasser“ zum Ort der Hoffnung und des Todes zugleich.

Im Jahr 2019 wurden bis Anfang November 79.889 Menschen gezählt, die über das Mittelmeer nach Europa kamen. Das ist eine kleinere Zahl als in den vergangenen Jahren. Dem UNHCR sind 1.089 Fälle bekannt, in denen Menschen dabei ihr Leben verloren. Bis Juni wurden 2019 rund 22.800 Menschen aus dem Mittelmeer gerettet. Die staatliche Seenotrettung wurde in den letzten Jahren stark eingeschränkt. Private Seenotrettungen wie z. B. Sea-Watch, Mission Lifeline und SOS Méditerranée versuchen, diese Lücke zu füllen und so viele Menschen wie möglich zu retten, deren Leben weiterhin bei der Mittelmeerüberquerung bedroht ist. 11Alle Zahlen und Informationen stammen vom UNHCR Deutschland: FAQ Seenotrettung, in: UNHCR Deutschland Webseite, 2019: https://www.unhcr.org/dach/de/services/faq/faq-seenotrettung#01 (26.11.2019).

Malta gehört neben Griechenland, Spanien, Italien und Zypern zu den Ländern, in denen die meisten Geflüchteten mit dem Boot Europa erreichen. Zwischen dem 01. Januar 2019 und dem 01. Oktober 2019 erreichten laut UNHCR 2804 Boote die Insel. 22UNHCR Malta: Malta Sea Arricals. January-September 2019, in: UNHCR Malta Webseite, 2019: https://www.unhcr.org/mt/wp-content/uploads/sites/54/2019/10/Malta-Factsheet_OCTOBER.pdf (04.02.2019).

Todesfälle von Geflüchteten, die auf dem Mittelmeer und an anderen Orten ihr Leben verloren, werden seit 1993 von UNITED for Intercultural Action dokumentiert. Darüber hinaus sterben viele Menschen auf der Flucht, deren Schicksal unbekannt bleibt.

 

 

    Fußnoten

  • 1Alle Zahlen und Informationen stammen vom UNHCR Deutschland: FAQ Seenotrettung, in: UNHCR Deutschland Webseite, 2019: https://www.unhcr.org/dach/de/services/faq/faq-seenotrettung#01 (26.11.2019).
  • 2UNHCR Malta: Malta Sea Arricals. January-September 2019, in: UNHCR Malta Webseite, 2019: https://www.unhcr.org/mt/wp-content/uploads/sites/54/2019/10/Malta-Factsheet_OCTOBER.pdf (04.02.2019).

Jehan Bseiso, The Water, in: Bhakti Shringarpure (ed. et al.), 2019: Mediterranean. Migrant Crossing. Storrs, CT: Warscapes Magazine, p. 14.

Übernommen aus Mediterranean. Migrant Crossings mit der freundlichen Genehmigung von Bhakti Shringarpure, Gründerin und Chefredakteurin von Warscapes.

Für eine Rezension von Mediterranean. Migrant Crossings siehe hier.

Übersetzung aus dem Englischen ins Deutsche © Minor Kontor.

Suche