Next Level Bad Girl

Fatima D. goes to school and receives training as a musician at the conservatory. Her future dream is to become a singer and musician. Her wish came about through a spontaneous encounter with a drum teacher who saw her playing the djembé.

Fatima D. comes from Gambia and arrived in Palermo in May 2017 as a minor. She goes to school, attends the conservatory and spends her free time in Ballarò, the historical center of Palermo. Ballarò is the meeting point of various migrant communities and also the central place of Fatima’s daily life: here she shops, goes to the hairdresser, meets friends. Fatima, as she says, still lacks people whom she trusts. Her main reference person is her mother, whom she always goes to for advice as her main reference person. They can only talk on the phone, as her mother did not come to Italy with her.

Fatima’s future dream is to become a singer and musician. Her wish came about through a spontaneous encounter with a drum teacher who saw her playing the djembé, and helped her enroll at the conservatory.

How were the films and fragments in Palermo made?

Diawara B. and Diallo S. from Giocherenda held a three-day workshop with six participants in Palermo: Glory M., Fatima D., Ismail A., Kadijatu J., Marrie S. and Mustapha F. Mixing different approaches and games, the group exchanged personal experiences and shared them in the black box in front of the camera. Furthermore, Fatima D., Ismail A. and Mustapha F. consented to being portrayed in short films by the We Refugees Archive film crew beyond the workshop. The portraits deal with their lives in the city.

Giocherenda is a professional organization led by, for and with young refugees in Palermo that offers storytelling games. Its aim is not to help refugees and support them, but the opposite: refugees bring locals together for the sake of exchanging their experiences with refugees.

The word Giocherenda stems from the Fula language Pular, primarily spoken in Guinea, and connotes solidarity, interdependence and strength generated from people getting together. Phonetically, it resembles the Italian word “giocare” (to play), which inspired the collective to develop games for the sake of producing narratives and personal memories.

Refugees’ perspectives

In the interviews, the film crew consciously abstained from screenplays and standardized questions. Instead, the refugees directed the course of the interview and discussed only those topics they were willing to speak about. With We Refugee Archive’s mission in mind, the participants’ personal experiences in Palermo and their visions for the near future was the rough focal point. Thus, experiences during and personal trajectories of forced migration to Europe were shared and discussed at the individual’s own will and not required nor elicited on demand.

Direction: Francesca Bertin
Camera: Max Sänger
Production: Francesca Bertin

Search

Next Level Bad Girl

Fatima D. geht zur Schule und erhält am Konservatorium eine Ausbildung zur Musikerin. Ihr Zukunftstraum ist es, Sängerin und Musikerin werden. Der Wunsch entstand durch eine spontane Begegnung mit einem Trommellehrer, der sie beim Djembéspielen sah.

Fatima D. kommt aus Gambia und ist im Mai 2017 als Minderjährige in Palermo angekommen. Sie geht zur Schule, ist am Konservatorium und verbringt ihre Freizeit im Ballarò, das historische Zentrum von Palermo. Ballarò ist Treffpunkt verschiedener migrantischer Communities und auch der zentrale Ort für das alltägliche Leben von Fatima: Hier kauft sie ein, geht zum Friseur, besucht Freund*innen. Dabei fehlen Fatima, wie sie sagt, weiterhin Menschen, denen sie vertraut, wie ihre Mutter, die sie als wichtigste Bezugsperson immer wieder um Rat bittet. Die beiden können nur am Telefon sprechen, da ihre Mutter nicht mit ihr nach Italien gekommen ist.

Fatima D. erhält am Konservatorium eine Ausbildung zur Musikerin. Ihr Zukunftstraum ist es, Sängerin und Musikerin werden. Der Wunsch entstand durch eine spontane Begegnung mit einem Trommellehrer, der sie beim Djembéspielen sah und ihr beim Eintritt in das Konservatorium half.

Wie entstanden die Selbstzeugnisse, Filme und Filmfragmente in Palermo?

Diawara B. und Diallo S. von Giocherenda gestalteten mit den Teilnehmenden Glory M., Fatima D., Ismail A., Kadijatu J., Marrie S. und Mustapha F. einen dreitägigen Workshop, indem es um ihre eigenen Erfahrungen in Palermo ging. Mit verschiedenen Ansätzen und Spielen konnten in der Gruppe persönliche Erfahrungen ausgetauscht und vor der Kamera des We Refugees Archiv Filmteam in der Black Box erzählt werden. Fatima D., Ismail A. und Mustapha F. erklärten sich bereit, außerhalb des Workshops von Giocherenda mit dem We Refugees Archiv Filmteam Kurzfilme über ihr Leben und ihre Themen in der Stadt zu drehen.

Giocherenda ist eine professionelle Organisation von und mit jungen Geflüchteten in Palermo, die Spiele zum Storytelling anbietet. Es geht im Ansatz nicht darum Geflüchteten zu helfen und zu unterstützen, sondern ausdrücklich um den umgekehrten Ansatz: Geflüchtete helfen Europäer*innen im gemeinsamen Zusammensein und Erfahrungsaustausch.

Giocherenda kommt aus der afrikanischen Sprache Pular und bedeutet Solidarität, aber auch Interdependenz and Stärke, die aus der Zusammenkunft der Menschen entsteht. Es ähnelt dem italienischen Wort „Giocare“ (Spielen), das das Kollektiv dazu inspirierte, Spiele zu entwickeln, die Erzählungen erzeugen und persönliche Erinnerungen teilen können.

Perspektive der Geflüchteten

Es wurde bewusst auf ein Drehbuch oder standardisierte Fragen in den filmischen Interviews verzichtet. Es ging allein um die Perspektive der Geflüchteten und die Themen, über die sie sprechen wollten. Einzige Vorgabe des Workshops war ein grober inhaltlicher Rahmen zu ihren Lebenserfahrungen in Palermo und ihren Visionen in naher Zukunft. Entsprechend konnten die Teilnehmenden frei entscheiden, was sie thematisieren und über welche Eindrücke, Probleme und Perspektiven sie sprechen wollten. Dass einige von ihnen dennoch über ihre Fluchterfahrungen nach Europa sprachen, beruhte also nicht auf einer Workshopvorgabe, sondern allein auf ihrer eigenen Entscheidung.

Regie: Francesca Bertin
Kamera: Max Sänger
Produktion: Francesca Bertin

Suche