Vilnius – A Garden of Eden in Times of War?

After the German attack on Poland on September 1, 1939, Vilnius became overnight one of the only places of refuge in Eastern Europe and offered temporary protection to over 30,000 Polish refugees in 1939/40. The existing Jewish infrastructure of the city granted Jewish refugees an unprecedented start-up aid for migrant life in the shadow of the incipient Holocaust in Poland. In this way, they called into being a project, which was the expression of migrant self-assertion and active Jewish resistance to Nazi terror.

Due to the strategic negotiations of the Lithuanian government in September 1939 and the revised version of the Molotov-Ribbentrop-Pact that followed, Vilnius was turned overnight into the capital city of what had been at that point the only neutral state in Eastern Europe. It was therefore on of the only escape routes for Polish, Jewish and non-Jewish, refugees who fled from Germany and Soviet-occupied Poland. Geopolitically, Lithuania’s capital was at first – although unintentionally and quickly overwhelmed – a city of refuge and transit for Polish refugees, but also a destination for many thousand Lithuanian migrants. At the start of December 1939, already 18,000 (among which were 6,860 Jews) and in February 1940, a total of circa 27,000 Polish refugees (with 11,000 Jews), were officially registered. These numbers remained the same until July 1, 1940 according to a “Report about the Aid for War Refugees and Migrants” from the Lithuanian interior ministry in July 26, 1940 – although this did not reflect the full extent. As a rule, only those who needed care registered themselves as refugees. The others avoided registering with the authorities out of fear of the register lists falling in the hands of the Soviets. 11Balkelis, Thomas, 2007: War, Ethnic Conflict and the Refugee Crisis in Lithuania, 1939–1940, pp. 461–477 in: Contemporary European History Vol. 16 (4), p. 464; Dieckmann, Christoph, 2011: Deutsche Besatzungspolitik in Litauen 1941–1944, Band 1. Göttingen: Wallstein Verlag, 144–147. The total number of Polish-Jewish refugees is therefore estimated at 14,000, out of which 70 percent escaped from the German and 30 percent from the Soviet occupation zones. 22Levin, Dov, 1995: The Lesser of Two Evil. Eastern European Jewry under Soviet Rule, 1939–1941. Philadelphia: Jewish Publication Society, p. 200.

So the refugees tugged across the streets of Vilnius from all over the land. Workers from
Warsaw, Yeshiva students from Lublin, dealers from Katowice, engineers, doctors – they
dragged themselves over the ancient streets of Vilnius and looked for a place of refuge.
A bed…
A piece of bread…
A shirt…
A little bit of warm food…
The first days were a big mish-mash of distress and pain. Who would be there to look after the thousands of refugees? Who would take care of them? Who would give them a comforting
word? Vilnius was busy with its own worries, with its own fears and suffering. Vilnius had
after all, just shaken itself out of the nightmare of war, and of the German bombardments, out of the dark nights and death-bringing days. Cut off from the world, Vilnius suffered from hunger and no one in those days had a mind for refugees. 33K., Hermann [Pseudonym of Hermann Kruk], 1940: Pleytim (Reportazsh), pp. 10–13 in: Folksgezunt: Ilustrirter populer-visnshaftlekher zshurnal far higyene un meditsin 1–2 (1940), p. 10.

For Vilnius, which had a population of around 210,000 (as of 1938) in the pre-war period, the influx of refugees meant a sudden population growth of around 15 percent, which could not simply be absorbed and led to a humanitarian crisis. In the words of Mendel Balberyszski, a Jewish refugee in Vilnius at the time, “the beginning of Lithuanian rule was [unfortunately] a bitter one for Jews,” 33Balberyszski, Mendel, 1967. Shtarker fun ayzn : Iberlebungen in der Hitler-tkufe, Volume 1. Tel Aviv: HaMenorah, 73-75. since with the withdrawal of the Red Army and the transfer of Lithuanian troops to Vilnius on 28 October 1939, three days of anti-Jewish riots, mainly perpetrated by ethnic Poles, quickly turned into pogroms – not only in Vilnius, but also in Naujoji Vilnia, Maišiogala and Pabradė. 44Dieckmann, Christoph, 2011: Deutsche Besatzungspolitik in Litauen 1941-1944, Volume 1: Wallstein Verlag, pp. 142-143; Levin, Dov, 2008, pp. 107-137 The Jews of Vilna under Soviet Rule, 19 September-28 October 1939, in: Polin: Studies in Polish Jewry Volume 9. The pogroms were ended with the help of the Lithuanian police, but help for refugees by the Lithuanian authorities beyond that could hardly be expected. But thankfully, the new arrivees in Vilnius, especially Jewish ones, did not have to settle in without any support from civil society.

Thanks to a Jewish cultural and social infrastructure, that had developed in the course of several hundred years, spanning from respected traditional educational institutions, reputable Hebrew and Yiddish publishers, magazines and newspapers as well as secular Jewish institutions of learning and culture, culminating in Jewish labor unions, professional associations, and social help networks, Vilnius advanced. Long worshipped as the “Jerusalem de Lite”, a traditional center of Jewish learning, the city also became the navel of the secular cultural and political movements of Jewish modernity. 55Harshav, Benjamin, 2002: Introduction: Herman Kruk’s Holocaust Writings, pp. xxi–lii in: Kruk, Herman (Author), Harshav, Benjamin (ed..), Harshav, Barbara (trans.), The Last Days of the Jerusalem of Lithuania. Chronicles from the Vilna Ghetto and the Camps, 1939–1944. New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. xxix–xxxiv. This Jewish infrastructure that was woven into the city was what awaited Jewish refugees from occupied Poland, even after the incorporation of Vilnius into Lithuania in October 1939.

A number of active Jewish aid organizations, such as the Society for Safeguarding the Health of the Jewish Population of Poland, TOZ (Towarzystwo Ochrony Zdrowia Ludności Żydowskiej w Polce), the Society for Manual and Agricultural Work among Jews in Russia, ORT (Obshchestvo Remeslennago i Zemledelecheskago Truda Sredi Evreev v Rossii) and the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee (Joint), worked together as part of the Committee for Refugee Assistance of the Jewish Community of Vilnius, one of the five organizations operating under the Red Cross Lithuania, and were financed by foreign donors in particular as well as by the Lithuanian treasury.

One can already say, that thanks to the Committee for Refugee Assistance of the Jewish Congregation of Vilnius, thanks to the financial support of “Joint”, thanks to the collaboration of TOZ in the field of healthcare – there is not a single hungry Jewish refugee in Vilnius, every refugee has an address, where he can go and sign up for supplies and where he has both clothing and housing assistance, medical care, legal assistance and if necessary also gets a professional training etc. 66Koren, L. [Pseudonym of Herman Kruk], 1940: Pleytim: 2ter artikl, pp. 14–15 in: Folksgezunt: Ilustrirter populer-visnshaftlekher zshurnal far higyene un meditsin 3 (1940), p. 15.

Demographically speaking, the refugee collective was made up of all layers of the Polish Jewry, but consisted especially of its political and intellectual elite. On October 11, 1939, one day after the signing of the contract between Lithuania and the Soviet Union, a train from Warsaw arrived. On board: 29 Jewish writers and journalists whose numbers would further rise to 60. With the financial support of the Joint and the help of the scientific infrastructure of YIVO, Noyekh Prilutski, 77Noyekh Prilutski (1882-1941) was a publicist, philologist and politician. He first published in Russian and Hebrew, from 1908 then mainly on and about Yiddish, for example in the journal Yidishe filologye, co-founded and edited by him. He founded and led the Jewish Folk Party, with which he became involved in the 1920s, beginning as a parliamentary representative for the political interests of the national minority. After his escape from Poland to Vilnius, he took over the chair of Yiddish language and culture and headed the YIVO from January 1941. After the German occupation of the city Prilutski was murdered by the National Socialists in August. See Weiser, Kalman: Pryłucki, Noah, in: The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe: https://yivoencyclopedia.org/article.aspx/Pry%C5%82ucki_Noah (17.10.2019). together with the 59 other writers formed what is probably the earliest Jewish historical Commission in Eastern Europe, dedicated to the documentation of German crimes in their Polish homeland. The work of the so-called Komitet tsu zamlen material vegn yidishn khurbn in Poyln (Committee for Collecting Material on the Destruction of Jewish Communities in Poland 1939) was entirely based on the cooperation with the refugee community. Everyday interviews were conducted with refugees to report about German crimes, escape and displacement, which subsequently formed the basis for the summary reports of the committee. 88On the history of the Committee, see Schulz, Miriam, 2016. Before the Bow That Was Drawn: The Vilnius Komitet and its documentation of the destruction of Polish Jewry, 1939-1940/41. http://metropol-verlag.de/produkt/miriam-schulz-der-beginn-des-untergangs/.

Despite the German and Soviet occupation of Poland, the news about the extraordinary activities of the Committee made it to Warsaw. Emanuel Ringelblum (1900-1944), 99Emanuel Ringelblum (1900-1944) was a Jewish-Polish historian, political activist, collaborator in aid organizations and director and chronicler of the secret Warsaw Ghetto Archive. As a historian he worked especially with the history of Polish Jews especially in Warsaw. With the exploration of their history – and thus their historical participation in Polish society – Ringelblum also wanted to strengthen the political integration of Polish Jews. He was also involved in Yiddish Cultural associations. During the Second World War, Ringelblum worked for Jewish aid organizations. In particular, in 1940 he founded a secret archive documenting life in the Warsaw Ghetto. Until his murder by the Nazis In 1944, Ringelblum continued to write historical works, including the annihilation of the Jewish population of Poland during World War II. world-famous director and chronicler of the later Warsaw Ghetto Archive, noted on January 3, 1940 the following sentence in his diary:

די שרײַבער געהערט װעגן דעם װילנער גן־עדן, װאָס יצחק  פֿאַר זײ געמאַכט. געצויגן אַהין װען װאַרשע נישט געקאָנט זײ אַזוי שיצן.

The writers heard about the Garden of Eden in Vilnius, that Yitskhok 1010Yitskhok Giterman (1889-1943) was Director of the Joint (link to Glossary) in Poland from 1926-1923. After he first fled Poland in 1939, he returned in 1940 and continued to lead the operations of Joint. After the establishment of the Warsaw Ghetto, he supported the interests if its residents and also supported underground resistance groups. He was murdered by SS soldiers on 1943. Cf. United States Holocaust Memorial Museum: Yitzhak Gitterman, in USHMM Holocaust Encyclopedia: https://encyclopedia.ushmm.org/content/en/article/yitzhak-gitterman (10.17.2019) has prepared for them. They moved there when Warsaw was not able to protect them any longer in the same way.

Emanuel Ringelblum, 3 January 1940 1111Ringelblum, Emanuel, 1961. Ksovim fun geto. Warsaw: Yidish bukh, p. 65.

Vilnius as a paradise of Jewish life in times of this war – what a bizarre statement in view of the fact that more than 95 percent of the Jewish population on Lithuanian territory (of originally 200,000 Jews only 9,000 to 10,000 survived) were murdered between 1941 and 1944 by the German occupying forces and their local helpers, i.e. only a few years after this phrase found its way into Ringelblum’s diary. Indeed, the Lithuanian Holocaust has the highest death toll in Europe. 1212For information on the Holocaust in Lithuania, see Dieckmann, Christoph, 2011: Deutsche Besatzungspolitik in Litauen 1941-1944, Volume 1 Göttingen: Wallstein Verlag; “Lithuania,” in: USHMM Holocaust Encyclopedia, https://encyclopedia.ushmm.org/content/en/article/lithuania; Subotić, Jelena, 2019. Yellow Star, Red Star : Holocaust Remembrance after Communism. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, pp. 150-204, 164.  The Biblical analogy to the Garden of Eden may be surprising, but one might find here an appropriate categorization of a particular welcoming and beneficial moment in Jewish migrant life and self-assertion in Lithuanian Vilnius, whilst taking into account its limited time period at the same time. Vilnius as a Garden of Eden for refugees describes both the opportunities found, seized and self-created by refugees in order to make Vilnius their city in a certain sense, but also the fact that Vilnius, after the invasion of the Wehrmacht at the latest in June 1941, was turned into the absolute and extreme opposite. The overwhelming majority of Jewish refugees who had failed to leave Vilnius in one way or the other, as well as the majority of Lithuanian Jews, died in the Holocaust – among them Noyekh Prilutsky. 1313Noyekh Prilutski (1882-1941) was a publicist, philologist and politician. He first published in Russian and Hebrew, from 1908 then mainly on and about Yiddish, for example in the journal Yidishe filologye, co-founded and edited by him. He founded and led the Jewish Folks-partey, with which he became involved in the 1920s, beginning as a parliamentary representative for the political interests of the national minority. After his escape from Poland to Vilnius, he took over the chair of Yiddish language and culture and headed the YIVO from January 1941. After the German occupation of the city Prilutski was murdered by the National Socialists in August. See Weiser, Kalman: Pryłucki, Noah, in: The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe: https://yivoencyclopedia.org/article.aspx/Pry%C5%82ucki_Noah (17.10.2019).

    Footnotes

  • 1Balkelis, Thomas, 2007: War, Ethnic Conflict and the Refugee Crisis in Lithuania, 1939–1940, pp. 461–477 in: Contemporary European History Vol. 16 (4), p. 464; Dieckmann, Christoph, 2011: Deutsche Besatzungspolitik in Litauen 1941–1944, Band 1. Göttingen: Wallstein Verlag, 144–147.
  • 2Levin, Dov, 1995: The Lesser of Two Evil. Eastern European Jewry under Soviet Rule, 1939–1941. Philadelphia: Jewish Publication Society, p. 200.
  • 3Balberyszski, Mendel, 1967. Shtarker fun ayzn : Iberlebungen in der Hitler-tkufe, Volume 1. Tel Aviv: HaMenorah, 73-75.
  • 4Dieckmann, Christoph, 2011: Deutsche Besatzungspolitik in Litauen 1941-1944, Volume 1: Wallstein Verlag, pp. 142-143; Levin, Dov, 2008, pp. 107-137 The Jews of Vilna under Soviet Rule, 19 September-28 October 1939, in: Polin: Studies in Polish Jewry Volume 9.
  • 5Harshav, Benjamin, 2002: Introduction: Herman Kruk’s Holocaust Writings, pp. xxi–lii in: Kruk, Herman (Author), Harshav, Benjamin (ed..), Harshav, Barbara (trans.), The Last Days of the Jerusalem of Lithuania. Chronicles from the Vilna Ghetto and the Camps, 1939–1944. New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. xxix–xxxiv.
  • 6Koren, L. [Pseudonym of Herman Kruk], 1940: Pleytim: 2ter artikl, pp. 14–15 in: Folksgezunt: Ilustrirter populer-visnshaftlekher zshurnal far higyene un meditsin 3 (1940), p. 15.
  • 7Noyekh Prilutski (1882-1941) was a publicist, philologist and politician. He first published in Russian and Hebrew, from 1908 then mainly on and about Yiddish, for example in the journal Yidishe filologye, co-founded and edited by him. He founded and led the Jewish Folk Party, with which he became involved in the 1920s, beginning as a parliamentary representative for the political interests of the national minority. After his escape from Poland to Vilnius, he took over the chair of Yiddish language and culture and headed the YIVO from January 1941. After the German occupation of the city Prilutski was murdered by the National Socialists in August. See Weiser, Kalman: Pryłucki, Noah, in: The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe: https://yivoencyclopedia.org/article.aspx/Pry%C5%82ucki_Noah (17.10.2019).
  • 8On the history of the Committee, see Schulz, Miriam, 2016. Before the Bow That Was Drawn: The Vilnius Komitet and its documentation of the destruction of Polish Jewry, 1939-1940/41. http://metropol-verlag.de/produkt/miriam-schulz-der-beginn-des-untergangs/.
  • 9Emanuel Ringelblum (1900-1944) was a Jewish-Polish historian, political activist, collaborator in aid organizations and director and chronicler of the secret Warsaw Ghetto Archive. As a historian he worked especially with the history of Polish Jews especially in Warsaw. With the exploration of their history – and thus their historical participation in Polish society – Ringelblum also wanted to strengthen the political integration of Polish Jews. He was also involved in Yiddish Cultural associations. During the Second World War, Ringelblum worked for Jewish aid organizations. In particular, in 1940 he founded a secret archive documenting life in the Warsaw Ghetto. Until his murder by the Nazis In 1944, Ringelblum continued to write historical works, including the annihilation of the Jewish population of Poland during World War II.
  • 10Yitskhok Giterman (1889-1943) was Director of the Joint (link to Glossary) in Poland from 1926-1923. After he first fled Poland in 1939, he returned in 1940 and continued to lead the operations of Joint. After the establishment of the Warsaw Ghetto, he supported the interests if its residents and also supported underground resistance groups. He was murdered by SS soldiers on 1943. Cf. United States Holocaust Memorial Museum: Yitzhak Gitterman, in USHMM Holocaust Encyclopedia: https://encyclopedia.ushmm.org/content/en/article/yitzhak-gitterman (10.17.2019)
  • 11Ringelblum, Emanuel, 1961. Ksovim fun geto. Warsaw: Yidish bukh, p. 65.
  • 12For information on the Holocaust in Lithuania, see Dieckmann, Christoph, 2011: Deutsche Besatzungspolitik in Litauen 1941-1944, Volume 1 Göttingen: Wallstein Verlag; “Lithuania,” in: USHMM Holocaust Encyclopedia, https://encyclopedia.ushmm.org/content/en/article/lithuania; Subotić, Jelena, 2019. Yellow Star, Red Star : Holocaust Remembrance after Communism. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, pp. 150-204, 164.
  • 13Noyekh Prilutski (1882-1941) was a publicist, philologist and politician. He first published in Russian and Hebrew, from 1908 then mainly on and about Yiddish, for example in the journal Yidishe filologye, co-founded and edited by him. He founded and led the Jewish Folks-partey, with which he became involved in the 1920s, beginning as a parliamentary representative for the political interests of the national minority. After his escape from Poland to Vilnius, he took over the chair of Yiddish language and culture and headed the YIVO from January 1941. After the German occupation of the city Prilutski was murdered by the National Socialists in August. See Weiser, Kalman: Pryłucki, Noah, in: The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe: https://yivoencyclopedia.org/article.aspx/Pry%C5%82ucki_Noah (17.10.2019).

Films 4

Chapters 7

Search

Vilnius – Ein Garten Eden in Zeiten des Krieges?

Nach dem deutschen Angriff auf Polen am 1. September 1939 wurde Vilnius über Nacht zu einem der einzigen erreichbaren Refugien in Osteuropa, das 1939/40 circa 30 000 polnischen Geflüchteten temporären Schutz bot. Die bestehende jüdische Infrastruktur der Stadt gewährte den jüdischen Geflüchteten eine beispiellose Starthilfe für migrantisches Leben im Schatten des einsetzenden Holocaust in Polen. So riefen sie ein einzigartiges Projekt ins Leben, das Ausdruck migrantischer Selbstbehauptung und des aktiven jüdischen Widerstands gegen den nationalsozialistischen Terror ist.

Aufgrund strategischer Verhandlungen der litauischen Regierung im September 1939 und einer darauffolgenden überarbeiteten Version des Molotov-Ribbentrop-Pakts hatte sich Vilnius über Nacht zur Hauptstadt des zu diesem Zeitpunkt einzigen neutralen Staates Osteuropas gewandelt. Sie stellte somit einen der wenigen Rettungswege für polnische, jüdische und nichtjüdische, Geflüchtete aus dem von Deutschland und der Sowjetunion besetzten Polen dar. Geopolitisch gesehen war Litauens Hauptstadt zuallererst ein – eher ungewolltes und schnell überwältigtes – Refugium und eine Transitstadt für polnische Geflüchtete, aber auch Ziel für mehrere tausend litauische Arbeitsmigranten. Anfang Dezember 1939 waren schon 18 000 (darunter 6 860 Jüdinnen*Juden) und im Februar 1940 insgesamt circa 27 000 polnische Geflüchtete (mit 11 000 Juden) offiziell registriert. Diese Zahlen hielten sich bis 1. Juli laut eines „Berichts über die Hilfe für Kriegsgeflüchtete und Migranten” des litauischen Innenministeriums vom 26. Juli 1940, spiegeln jedoch nicht das tatsächliche Ausmaß wider. In der Regel registrierten sich nur jene als Geflüchtete, die Fürsorge benötigten. Die anderen vermieden die Erfassung durch Autoritäten wegen der Befürchtung, die Registerlisten könnten in sowjetischen Händen landen. 11Balkelis, Thomas, 2007: War, Ethnic Conflict and the Refugee Crisis in Lithuania, 1939–1940, pp. 461–477 in: Contemporary European History Vol. 16 (4), p. 464; Dieckmann, Christoph, 2011: Deutsche Besatzungspolitik in Litauen 1941–1944, Band 1. Göttingen: Wallstein Verlag, 144–147. Die Gesamtzahl polnisch-jüdischer Geflüchteter wird daher auf insgesamt 14 000 geschätzt, von denen 70 Prozent aus der deutschen und 30 Prozent aus der sowjetischen Besatzungszone entkommen waren. 22Levin, Dov, 1995: The Lesser of Two Evil. Eastern European Jewry under Soviet Rule, 1939–1941. Philadelphia: Jewish Publication Society, p. 200.

Für das in der Vorkriegszeit circa 210 000 (Stand: 1938) Einwohner*innen starke Vilnius bedeutete der Zustrom an Geflüchteten einen plötzlichen Bevölkerungswachstum von circa 15 Prozent, der nicht einfach absorbiert werden konnte und in eine humanitäre Krise führte. In den Worten Mendel Balberyszskis, einem jüdischen Geflüchteten in Vilnius zu der Zeit, war „der Anfang der litauischen Herrschaft [leider] ein bitterer für Juden,“ 33Balberyszski, Mendel, 1967. Shtarker fun ayzn : Iberlebungen in der Hitler-tkufe, Band 1. Tel Aviv: HaMenorah, 73–75. da es mit dem Abzug der Roten Armee und der Verlegung litauischer Truppenteile am 28. Oktober 1939 nach Vilnius zu dreitätigen antijüdischen Ausschreitungen vor allem von ethnischen Polen kam, die schnell in Pogrome umschlugen – nicht nur in Vilnius, sondern auch in Naujoji Vilnia, Maišiogala und Pabradė. 44Dieckmann, Christoph, 2011: Deutsche Besatzungspolitik in Litauen 1941–1944, Band 1. Göttingen: Wallstein Verlag, S. 142–143; Levin, Dov, 2008, pp. 107–137. The Jews of Vilna under Soviet Rule, 19 September–28 October 1939, in: Polin: Studies in Polish Jewry Volume 9. Sie wurden mit Hilfe der litauischen Polizei niedergeschlagen, doch war von Seiten der litauischen Autoritäten darüber hinaus vorerst kaum Geflüchtetenhilfe zu erwarten. Aber ganz ohne zivilgesellschaftliche Unterstützung mussten sich vor allem die jüdischen Neuankömmlinge in Vilnius nicht eingewöhnen.

Dank einer über Jahrhunderte gewachsenen kulturellen und sozialen Infrastruktur von angesehenen traditionellen Bildungseinrichtungen, namhaften Verlagen hebräischer und jiddischer Literatur, Zeitschriften und Zeitungen sowie Institutionen säkular-jüdischer Wissenschaft und Kultur bis hin zu jüdischen Gewerkschaften, Berufsverbänden und sozialen Hilfsnetzwerken avancierte Vilnius, das von jeher verehrte „Jerusalem de Lite“, vom traditionellen Zentrum des jüdischen Lehrens und Lernens auch zum Nabel säkularer kultureller und politischer Bewegungen der jüdischen Moderne. 55Harshav, Benjamin, 2002: Introduction: Herman Kruk’s Holocaust Writings, pp. xxi–lii in: Kruk, Herman (Author), Harshav, Benjamin (ed..), Harshav, Barbara (trans.), The Last Days of the Jerusalem of Lithuania. Chronicles from the Vilna Ghetto and the Camps, 1939–1944. New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. xxix–xxxiv. Diese in die Stadt eingewebte jüdische Infrastruktur erwartete den Zustrom jüdischer Geflüchteter aus dem besetzten Polen auch nach der Eingliederung Vilnius‘ in Litauen im Oktober 1939.

Mehrere in Vilnius aktive jüdische Hilfsorganisation, wie der TOZ, der ORT und dem Joint arbeiteten zusammen als Teil des Komitees für Geflüchtetenhilfe der Jüdischen Gemeinde Vilnius, die eine von fünf unter dem Roten Kreuz Litauen operierenden Organisationen war und vor allem von ausländischen Geldgeber*innen, aber auch aus der litauischen Staatskasse finanziert wurden.

Man kann schon jetzt sagen, dass dank dem Komitee für Flüchtlingshilfe der Jüdischen Gemeinde Vilnius, dank der finanziellen Unterstützung vom „Joint“, dank der Zusammenarbeit mit TOZ im Bereich der Gesundheitsfürsorge – gibt es nicht einen einzigen hungrigen jüdischen Flüchtling in Vilnius, jeder Flüchtling hat eine Adresse, wo er sich anmelden kann und wo er sowohl Kleidung als auch Wohnhilfe, medizinische Versorgung, Rechtshilfe und wenn nötig auch eine Berufsausbildung etc. erhält. 66Koren, L. [Pseudonym von Herman Kruk], 1940: Pleytim: 2ter artikl, S. 14–15 in: Folksgezunt: Ilustrirter populer-visnshaftlekher zshurnal far higyene un meditsin 3 (1940), S. 15.

Demographisch gesehen setzte sich das Geflüchtetenkollektiv aus allen Schichten des polnischen Judentums zusammen, besonders aber aus seiner politischen und intellektuellen Elite. Am 11. Oktober 1939, einen Tag nach der Vertragsunterzeichnung zwischen Litauen und der Sowjetunion, war unter anderem ein Zug aus Warschau angekommen. An Bord: 29 jüdische Schriftsteller und Journalisten, deren Zahl noch auf 60 ansteigen sollte. Mit der finanziellen Unterstützung des Joints und mit Hilfe der wissenschaftlichen Infrastruktur des YIVO gründete Noyekh Prilutski 77Noyekh Prilutski (1882-1941) war Publizist, Philologe und Politiker. Er publizierte zunächst auf Russisch und Hebräisch, ab 1908 dann vor allem auf und über Jiddisch, zum Beispiel in der von ihm mitgegründeten und herausgegebenen Zeitschrift Yidishe filologye. Er gründete und leitete die jüdische Folkspartei, mit der er sich in den 1920er Jahren als parlamentarischer Vertreter für die politischen Interessen der nationalen Minderheit einsetzte. Nach seiner Flucht von Polen nach Vilnius übernahm er dort den Lehrstuhl für Jiddische Sprache und Kultur und leitete ab Januar 1941 das YIVO. Nach der deutschen Besatzung der Stadt wurde Prilutski im August von den Nationalsozialisten ermordet. Vgl. Weiser, Kalman: Pryłucki, Noah, in: The YIVO Encayclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe: https://yivoencyclopedia.org/article.aspx/Pry%C5%82ucki_Noah (17.10.2019). zusammen mit den 59 anderen Literaten die wohl früheste jüdische historische Kommission in Osteuropa, die sich der Dokumentation der deutschen Verbrechen in ihrer polnischen Heimat widmeten. Die Arbeit des sogenannten Komitees fußte auf der Zusammenarbeit mit der Geflüchtetengemeinde. Täglich wurden Interviews mit Geflüchteten geführt, die über deutsche Verbrechen, Flucht und Vertreibung berichteten und die Basis für zusammenfassende Berichte des Komitees lieferten. 88Zur Geschichte des Komitee, siehe Schulz, Miriam, 2016. Der Beginn des Untergangs. Die Zerstörung der jüdischen Gemeinden in Polen und das Vermächtnis des Wilnaer Komitees. Berlin: Metropol. http://metropol-verlag.de/produkt/miriam-schulz-der-beginn-des-untergangs/. Trotz deutscher und sowjetischer Besatzung schafften es Nachrichten über die außergewöhnlichen Aktivitäten des Komitees bis nach Warschau. Emanuel Ringelblum (1900–1944) 99Emanuel Ringelblum (1900-1944) war ein jüdisch-polnischer Historiker, politischer Aktivist, Mitarbeiter in Hilfsorganisationen und Leiter und Chronist des geheimen Warschauer Ghettoarchivs. Als Historiker beschäftigte er sich vor allem mit der Geschichte der polnischen Jüdinnen*Juden, insbesondere in Warschau. Die Erforschung ihrer Geschichte – und damit ihrer historischen Teilhabe an der polnischen Gesellschaft – wollte sich Ringelblum auch die politische Eingliederung der polnischen Jüdinnen*Juden starkmachen. Zudem engagierte er sich in Jiddischen Kulturvereinen. Im Zweiten Weltkrieg arbeitete Ringelblum für jüdische Hilfsorganisationen. Insbesondere gründete er 1940 ein geheimes Archiv zur Dokumentation des Lebens im Warschauer Ghetto. Bis zu seiner Ermordung durch die Nazis 1944 schrieb Ringelblum weiter an historischen Werken, die auch die Vernichtung der jüdischen Bevölkerung Polens während des Zweiten Weltkriegs dokumentierten., weltberühmter Leiter und Chronist des späteren Warschauer Ghettoarchivs, notierte am 3. Januar 1940 folgenden erstaunlichen Satz in sein Tagebuch:

די שרײַבער געהערט װעגן דעם װילנער גן־עדן, װאָס יצחק  פֿאַר זײ געמאַכט. געצויגן אַהין װען װאַרשע נישט געקאָנט זײ אַזוי שיצן.

Die Schriftsteller hörten vom Gan Eden in Vilnius, das Yitskhok 1010Yitskhok / Isaac Giterman (1889-1943) war von 1926-1939 Direktor des Joint in Polen. Nachdem er 1939 zunächst aus Polen geflohen war, kehrte er 1940 zurück und leitete weiter die Operationen des Joint mit. Nach der Gründung des Warschauer Ghettos setzte er sich für die Belange seiner Bewohner*innen ein und unterstützte auch Widerstandsgruppen im Untergrund. Er wurde am 1943 von SS Soldaten ermordet. Vgl. United States Holocaust Memorial Museum: Yitzhak Gitterman, in USHMM Holocaust Encyclopedia: https://encyclopedia.ushmm.org/content/en/article/yitzhak-gitterman (17.10.2019) für sie bereitet hat. Sie zogen dorthin, als Warschau sie nicht mehr so schützen konnte.

Emanuel Ringelblum, 3. Januar 1940 1111Ringelblum, Emanuel, 1961. Ksovim fun geto. Warsaw: Yidish bukh, S. 65.

Vilnius als Paradies jüdischen Lebens in Zeiten dieses Krieges – welch bizarr anmutende Feststellung im Angesicht dessen, dass über 95 Prozent der jüdischen Bevölkerung auf litauischen Territorium (von ursprünglich 200 000 Jüdinnen*Juden überlebten nur 9000 bis 10 000) zwischen 1941 und 1944 von den deutschen Besatzern und ihren lokalen Helfern ermordet wurden, also nur wenige Jahre, nachdem dieser vielsagende Satz seinen Eingang in Ringelblums Tagebuch fand. Der litauische Holocaust hat de facto die höchste Opferquote in Europa. 1212Für Informationen zum Holocaust in Litauen, siehe Dieckmann, Christoph, 2011: Deutsche Besatzungspolitik in Litauen 1941–1944, Band 1. Göttingen: Wallstein Verlag; „Lithuania,“ in: USHMM Holocaust Encyclopedia, https://encyclopedia.ushmm.org/content/en/article/lithuania; Subotić, Jelena, 2019. Yellow Star, Red Star : Holocaust Remembrance after Communism. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, S. 150–204, 164. Die biblische Analogie zum Garten Eden mag überraschen, doch findet sich hier eventuell eine passende Einordnung eines gewissen einladenden und förderlichen Moments migrantischen jüdischen Lebens und Selbstbehauptung im litauischen Vilnius, die dessen zeitliche Begrenzung jedoch miteinschließt. Denn Vilnius als Garten Eden für Geflüchtete beschreibt sowohl die von Geflüchteten vorgefundenen, ergriffenen und selbst-geschaffenen Möglichkeiten, Vilnius in gewisser Hinsicht auch zu ihrer Stadt zu machen, aber auch die Tatsache, dass sich Vilnius spätestens ab Einmarsch der Wehrmacht im Juni 1941 in das absolute und extreme Gegenteil verwandelte. Die überragende Mehrheit der jüdischen Geflüchteten, die es nicht schafften, Vilnius auf die eine oder andere Art zu verlassen, sowie die Mehrheit der litauischen Judenheit starben im Holocaust – unter ihnen Noyekh Prilutski. 1313Noyekh Prilutski (1882-1941) war Publizist, Philologe und Politiker. Er publizierte zunächst auf Russisch und Hebräisch, ab 1908 dann vor allem auf und über Jiddisch, zum Beispiel in der von ihm mitgegründeten und herausgegebenen Zeitschrift Yidishe filologye. Er gründete und leitete die jüdische Folkspartei, mit der er sich in den 1920er Jahren als parlamentarischer Vertreter für die politischen Interessen der nationalen Minderheit einsetzte. Nach seiner Flucht von Polen nach Vilnius übernahm er dort den Lehrstuhl für Jiddische Sprache und Kultur und leitete ab Januar 1941 das YIVO. Nach der deutschen Besatzung der Stadt wurde Prilutski im August von den Nationalsozialisten ermordet. Vgl. Weiser, Kalman: Pryłucki, Noah, in: The YIVO Encayclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe: https://yivoencyclopedia.org/article.aspx/Pry%C5%82ucki_Noah (17.10.2019).

    Fußnoten

  • 1Balkelis, Thomas, 2007: War, Ethnic Conflict and the Refugee Crisis in Lithuania, 1939–1940, pp. 461–477 in: Contemporary European History Vol. 16 (4), p. 464; Dieckmann, Christoph, 2011: Deutsche Besatzungspolitik in Litauen 1941–1944, Band 1. Göttingen: Wallstein Verlag, 144–147.
  • 2Levin, Dov, 1995: The Lesser of Two Evil. Eastern European Jewry under Soviet Rule, 1939–1941. Philadelphia: Jewish Publication Society, p. 200.
  • 3Balberyszski, Mendel, 1967. Shtarker fun ayzn : Iberlebungen in der Hitler-tkufe, Band 1. Tel Aviv: HaMenorah, 73–75.
  • 4Dieckmann, Christoph, 2011: Deutsche Besatzungspolitik in Litauen 1941–1944, Band 1. Göttingen: Wallstein Verlag, S. 142–143; Levin, Dov, 2008, pp. 107–137. The Jews of Vilna under Soviet Rule, 19 September–28 October 1939, in: Polin: Studies in Polish Jewry Volume 9.
  • 5Harshav, Benjamin, 2002: Introduction: Herman Kruk’s Holocaust Writings, pp. xxi–lii in: Kruk, Herman (Author), Harshav, Benjamin (ed..), Harshav, Barbara (trans.), The Last Days of the Jerusalem of Lithuania. Chronicles from the Vilna Ghetto and the Camps, 1939–1944. New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. xxix–xxxiv.
  • 6Koren, L. [Pseudonym von Herman Kruk], 1940: Pleytim: 2ter artikl, S. 14–15 in: Folksgezunt: Ilustrirter populer-visnshaftlekher zshurnal far higyene un meditsin 3 (1940), S. 15.
  • 7Noyekh Prilutski (1882-1941) war Publizist, Philologe und Politiker. Er publizierte zunächst auf Russisch und Hebräisch, ab 1908 dann vor allem auf und über Jiddisch, zum Beispiel in der von ihm mitgegründeten und herausgegebenen Zeitschrift Yidishe filologye. Er gründete und leitete die jüdische Folkspartei, mit der er sich in den 1920er Jahren als parlamentarischer Vertreter für die politischen Interessen der nationalen Minderheit einsetzte. Nach seiner Flucht von Polen nach Vilnius übernahm er dort den Lehrstuhl für Jiddische Sprache und Kultur und leitete ab Januar 1941 das YIVO. Nach der deutschen Besatzung der Stadt wurde Prilutski im August von den Nationalsozialisten ermordet. Vgl. Weiser, Kalman: Pryłucki, Noah, in: The YIVO Encayclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe: https://yivoencyclopedia.org/article.aspx/Pry%C5%82ucki_Noah (17.10.2019).
  • 8Zur Geschichte des Komitee, siehe Schulz, Miriam, 2016. Der Beginn des Untergangs. Die Zerstörung der jüdischen Gemeinden in Polen und das Vermächtnis des Wilnaer Komitees. Berlin: Metropol. http://metropol-verlag.de/produkt/miriam-schulz-der-beginn-des-untergangs/.
  • 9Emanuel Ringelblum (1900-1944) war ein jüdisch-polnischer Historiker, politischer Aktivist, Mitarbeiter in Hilfsorganisationen und Leiter und Chronist des geheimen Warschauer Ghettoarchivs. Als Historiker beschäftigte er sich vor allem mit der Geschichte der polnischen Jüdinnen*Juden, insbesondere in Warschau. Die Erforschung ihrer Geschichte – und damit ihrer historischen Teilhabe an der polnischen Gesellschaft – wollte sich Ringelblum auch die politische Eingliederung der polnischen Jüdinnen*Juden starkmachen. Zudem engagierte er sich in Jiddischen Kulturvereinen. Im Zweiten Weltkrieg arbeitete Ringelblum für jüdische Hilfsorganisationen. Insbesondere gründete er 1940 ein geheimes Archiv zur Dokumentation des Lebens im Warschauer Ghetto. Bis zu seiner Ermordung durch die Nazis 1944 schrieb Ringelblum weiter an historischen Werken, die auch die Vernichtung der jüdischen Bevölkerung Polens während des Zweiten Weltkriegs dokumentierten.
  • 10Yitskhok / Isaac Giterman (1889-1943) war von 1926-1939 Direktor des Joint in Polen. Nachdem er 1939 zunächst aus Polen geflohen war, kehrte er 1940 zurück und leitete weiter die Operationen des Joint mit. Nach der Gründung des Warschauer Ghettos setzte er sich für die Belange seiner Bewohner*innen ein und unterstützte auch Widerstandsgruppen im Untergrund. Er wurde am 1943 von SS Soldaten ermordet. Vgl. United States Holocaust Memorial Museum: Yitzhak Gitterman, in USHMM Holocaust Encyclopedia: https://encyclopedia.ushmm.org/content/en/article/yitzhak-gitterman (17.10.2019)
  • 11Ringelblum, Emanuel, 1961. Ksovim fun geto. Warsaw: Yidish bukh, S. 65.
  • 12Für Informationen zum Holocaust in Litauen, siehe Dieckmann, Christoph, 2011: Deutsche Besatzungspolitik in Litauen 1941–1944, Band 1. Göttingen: Wallstein Verlag; „Lithuania,“ in: USHMM Holocaust Encyclopedia, https://encyclopedia.ushmm.org/content/en/article/lithuania; Subotić, Jelena, 2019. Yellow Star, Red Star : Holocaust Remembrance after Communism. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, S. 150–204, 164.
  • 13Noyekh Prilutski (1882-1941) war Publizist, Philologe und Politiker. Er publizierte zunächst auf Russisch und Hebräisch, ab 1908 dann vor allem auf und über Jiddisch, zum Beispiel in der von ihm mitgegründeten und herausgegebenen Zeitschrift Yidishe filologye. Er gründete und leitete die jüdische Folkspartei, mit der er sich in den 1920er Jahren als parlamentarischer Vertreter für die politischen Interessen der nationalen Minderheit einsetzte. Nach seiner Flucht von Polen nach Vilnius übernahm er dort den Lehrstuhl für Jiddische Sprache und Kultur und leitete ab Januar 1941 das YIVO. Nach der deutschen Besatzung der Stadt wurde Prilutski im August von den Nationalsozialisten ermordet. Vgl. Weiser, Kalman: Pryłucki, Noah, in: The YIVO Encayclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe: https://yivoencyclopedia.org/article.aspx/Pry%C5%82ucki_Noah (17.10.2019).

Filme 4

Kapitel 7

Suche